Watch the Weights

I’ve gotten into a pretty good routine at the weight room. It’s small and crowded and highly protected by the inmates.

Inmates warned me multiple times within my first week of general population to be careful and not to injure myself. I quickly learned they weren’t warning me out of any genuine concern for my well-being; they were interested in my safety practices only inasmuch as their continuation meant ongoing access to free-weights. The USDB is the only federal prison that still has free weights and the inmates are very protective. They’re certain the USDB is waiting with baited breath for a reason to take away the privilege…but I feel like they could take the weights away if they wanted to whether they had a valid reason or not. I mean, what are we going to do?

But that’s not my concern. My concern is making sure the other inmates never get the impression I’ve caused the loss of their free-weight privileges. I suspect any inmate who causes such a catastrophe would go into protective custody immediately.

I’m lifting 4 to 5 times a week now and seeing nice gains despite no access to supplements. Makes me think that maybe all that money I spent on various powders while deployed was a waste…

Leave a Reply

