The grass really is greener…

Hello, this is my first post that did not go through USDB mailroom screening, snail mail and my good friend TSCI. After some reacquainting, I have regained my computer literacy and gained access to this site. I want thank our loyal followers for reading my posts and listening to my rants, venting and other posts. I hope that this blog has (and continues to be) entertaining and maybe even educational.

I apologize for the lack of posts recently, but the past few months have been a roller coaster ride, particularly the last three weeks. I am doing well and trying to readjust to the speed of the world outside the walls of the USDB. It is hard to even explain how surreal this experience has been. For now, I will tell you that I am doing well and enjoying reconnecting with family and friends. I promise to keep the content coming in the near future.

Thanks again for all your support during the past 39 months!

13 thoughts on “The grass really is greener…

  1. I once spent a long time in VietNam, many years ago.

    I remember the shock of coming back to the USA, it was chaotic, everything happened too fast and made me feel very alien for a long time….

    Welcome back Russ.

    Charles.

  2. Welcome back Russ. I remember getting out of the USDB in 1992. My parents picked me up. Riding in a moving vehicle was intense, also having to pick something off of a menu was a challenge. I remember when frustrated I would pace back and forth, realizing I was pacing the length of a cell. It takes time, but things go back to “normal.”
    David Mike

  3. Welcome home and best of luck in your future endeavors. Your letters from the USDB where very insightful. You don’t sound like you belonged there in the first place. I retired from the Army and saw people (usually high ranking) get away with stuff that would have sent the junior officers and troops to USDB.

  4. I’ve been reading your blog for a couple years now and never posted a comment, but this post definitely warranted some kind of response. Congrats! I’ve enjoyed reading your posts very much, look forward to more, and welcome back to the world at large.

  5. Absolute best wishes to you, and congratulations on your release! I wonder if getting out is anything like returning from a tough deployment… I just, today, discovered this blog, and have read it all in a sitting. Please take care of yourself, and please take the time you need to adjust. I hope that first run was everything you dreamed it would be!

  6. Russ,

    I am sorry that I am so late to read and reply but I wanted to say welcome back to the outside world! You remain in my prayers. I pray that you are able to become reacquainted with your son, spend time with him as a father should, and that you are blessed with much happiness from this time forward. I have thought a lot about you and the list you made before you were released. I hope that you are steadily crossing those things off your list and enjoying your freedom as you do. I sincerely wish you God’s greatest blessings for your life.

    Respectfully,
    Rochelle

  7. I am glad to know that you are doing well. Your posts have been educational and insightful. Lastly, did you end up doing all the foodie activities you listed in a previous post?

      • Glad that you are enjoying life again. Sorry to hear that you are unable to find employment that is more appropriate to your capability. Hopefully that will change. You deserve a fresh start.

Leave a Reply

